Horizon award winners

Two Buhler teachers have been recognized as Kansas Horizon Award recipients. This award is given to teachers in their second year in the profession and recognizes an excellent first year of teaching.

Ms. Katelyn Stoss, K-5 music teacher at Plum Creek Elementary, and Mrs. Nicole Menard, English/Language Arts teacher at Buhler High School both received the news on Monday afternoon. Both teachers completed their first year of teaching in 2021 and were nominated to apply for the award last fall.

From the KSDE Website:

"The Kansas Horizon Award program identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state.

The mission of the program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding."    

We are proud of Ms. Stoss and Mrs. Menard, their exceptional first years of teaching, and their continued excellence each day in their classrooms.